Imo House of Assembly receives suspended members

Imo State News – The five (5) honourable members of the Imo State House of Assembly, who were suspended in November 2018, for alleged unparliamentary conduct has been received at the hallowed chambers of the assembly

The suspended members were by the Speaker of the House, Mr Iheanacho Ihim, and other honourable colleagues of the suspended members today, Tuesday, during a plenary session in Owerri.

According to Ihim, as reported by the News Agency of Nigeria NAN, the matter was resolved after an interface at an executive session, saying that the members have been fully readmitted.

The News Agency of Nigeria NAN, also reports that the Speaker had on April 11 invited the suspended members to an interface at the executive session of April 16 to discuss their possible readmission.

The report had it that the speaker has issued the invitation following a motion by Mr Chika Madumere (AGAP-Nkwerre) at plenary.

A state High Court had on Nov. 5, 2018, quashed the suspension of four of the five members, describing it as unconstitutional.

The court also jointly awarded the applicants, Dr Uche Oguwuike (Ikeduru-APC), Mr Chiji Collins (Isiala Mbano- APGA), Mr Israel Nnataraonye (Mbaitoli-APC) and Mr Nkenna Nzeruo (Oru East-APC) N8 million in damages and 100,000 in legal fees.

The judge, Justice Goddy Anunihu in his ruling also directed the Speaker and the house who were the first and second respondents to pay the applicants their salaries, allowances and emoluments for the period they were suspended.

However, NAN has reported that the judgment was ignored by the house leadership which appealed against it. (NAN)

IMPORTANT!: Follow us on Instagram @InfoGuideNigeria
Show More

Joseph Athanasius

Joseph Athanasius is a Public Affairs Commentator and News Writer at InfoGuide Nigeria News.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button