Top 6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria

Top 6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria. The six- geopolitical zone structure was proposed by former vice-president Alex Ekwueme and was adopted in the 1995 constitutional conference albeit it not in the constitution.

The 6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria is a key constitutional division in Nigeria. It was adopted under the regime of President Ibrahim Babangida.

The fact that Nigeria is made up of roughly 400 ethnic groups and 450 languages necessitated the government to amalgamate related groups to give room for efficient allocation of resources. Nigerian economic, political and educational resources are frequently shared across the zones.

The thirty six states in Nigeria together with the Federal capital territory are distributed between the six geopolitical zones.

The languages and culture in each of the 6 geographical zones are similar and indigenes of these states speak one unifying language apart from the south-south and north central.

The Hausa language is the usually spoken language of the North-East and North-West zones. The people of South-west speak Yoruba language although with different dialects, and people of the South-East are predominantly Igbo and speak only the Igbo language.

The 6 geo-political zones are South-West, South-East, South-South, North-East, North-West, and North-Central.

Here are the Top 6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria

  1. South-West Geopolitical zone

The south-west geopolitical zone is made up of Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti states, 6 states in total.

Top cities/towns in the zone are South-West: Lagos, Ibadan, Akure, Abeokuta, Ogbomoso, Osogbo, Ado-Ekiti. Oyo State (28,454 km2) is the largest in the South-West whereas Lagos (3,345km2 ) is the least in size. In the south west we have the only the Yorubas.          In Yoruba Religion, worship is a major factor. It starts, gearshifts, and ends all the affairs of life for the Yoruba people. The Yoruba people believe in the reality of the Supreme Being who is the creator of the world and in the divinities and spirits who operate as His Minister and intermediaries between Him and man. Worship is, thus, accorded to the Supreme Being to whom man owns his beginning and who determines of man’s destiny.

Worship in Yoruba Religion take the form of rites and ceremonies and consist of prostration, prayer, invocation, and praising the spirit of the object of worship, making offering, ringing the bell or gong, singing, drumming, and dancing  according to each circumstance.


  1. South-East geopolitical zone

Top cities/towns in the zone are South-East: Aba, Onitsha, Enugu, Owerri, Abakaliki. The states that make up the south east geopolitical zone are 5. They are Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi, Imo and Abia states. Enugu State (7,161 km2) is the largest in the South-East while Anambra (4,844 km2) is the smallest. In south east we have only the Igbos by tribe. Igbos are blessed with rich culture is blessed with rich culture. They are well known for their hospitality to strangers. They are part of the missing tribe of Israel and have similar culture with the Israelites. Igbo people are industrious. They are religious people and puts God first in everything they do. This is depicted in their names like Chukwuma, Uchechukuwu, Ngozichukwuka, Kaodibalachukwu etc. The majority of Igbo names are attached to their supreme God which they referred to as Chukwu.


  1. South-South geopolitical zone

The states that make up the south-south are 6. This includes: Edo, Delta, Rivers, Bayelsa, Cross-River and Akwa-Ibom states. Top cities/towns in the zone are Benin, PortHarcourt, Calabar, Warri, Uyo, Yenagoa, Asaba. Cross-River State (20,156 km2) is the biggest in the South-South even as Akwa-Ibom (7,081 km2) is the smallest. In South South, we have IJaw(Bayelsa), Bini, Essan(Edo), Urhobo, Itsekiri(Delta), Ikwere, Ogoni(Rivers) Ibibio, Annang(Akwa Ibom) and Efik, Ejagham(Cross River).


  1. North-East geopolitical zone

The states that make up the North east geopolitical zone are:

Taraba, Adamawa, Borno, Yobe, Bauchi and Gombe states.They are six in number. Top cities/towns in the zone are Yola, Maiduguri, Bauchi, Gombe, Potiskum, Damaturu, Jalingo. Borno State (70,898 km2) is the biggest in the North-East while Gombe (18,768 km2) is the least in size. In the North East we have Mumuye, Tiv(Taraba), Balewa, Fulani(Bauchi), Fulani, Tangalawaja(Gombe), Fulani, Kanuri(Yobe), Kanuri, Babur(Borno) and Fulfulde, Fulani(Adamawa).


  1. North-West Geopolitical Zone

The North West geopolitical zone is made up of 7 states which include: Sokoto, Zamfara, Kebbi, Kaduna, Katsina, Kano and Jigawa states. Top cities/towns in the zone are Sokoto, Kaduna, Zaria, Kano, Katsina, Birnin-Kebbi, Dutse, Gusau. These seven states were initially part of out of use Northern region. The North-West is one of the biggest and highly populated zones in Nigeria. Its landmass is around 216,065 square kilometers. The zone has about 25.75 percent of the total Nigeria population. In the North West, we have Hausa, Jabba(Kaduna), Hausa, Zuru(Kebbi), Hausa-Fulani, Gbagyi(Zamfara), Hausa-Fulani, Baju(Kano), Hausa-Fulani, Zara(Sokoto), Hausa-Fulani, Maguzawa(Katsina) and Hausa-Fulani, Kanuri(Jigawa).

The North-West embraces the old Hausa states of Daura, Gobir, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Zamfara and Zazzau. They were brought under one political umbrella Usman Bin Fodio.  This zone is mostly dominated by Hausas although there are a few Yorubas and Igbos living in the area. They mostly dominate the Nigerian political and economic life. Other ethnic groups found in the zone are the Fulani, Zabarmawa, Dakarkari, Kambari, Gungawa, Dandawa, Dukkawa, Kaje, Kataf, Gwari, and so on. Hausa language is the means of communication in the area. Kaduna State (46,053 km2) is the biggest in the North-West although Kano (20,131 km2) is the least in size.


  1. North Central geopolitical zone

The states that make up the north central geopolitical zone are 6 and include Kwara, Kogi, Plateau, Nassarawa, Benue and Niger states. The federal capital territory is as well included here although is not fully taking as a state. The north central is as well referred to as the middle belt. Top cities/towns in the zone are Abuja, Ilorin, Makurdi, Minna, Jos, Lokoja, Lafia.

The North is composed of 19 states while there are 17 in the South, thus this gives a total of 36 states in addition to the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) . Niger State (76,363 km2) is biggest in the North-Central whereas Nassarawa (27,117 km2). In North Central where six States and the Federal Capital Territory-Abuja exist, we have Gbagyi, Gwandara(Abuja), Tiv, Idoma(Benue), Igala, Ebira(Kogi), Yoruba, Nupe(Kwara), Mada-Eggon, Tiv(Nasarawa), Nupe, Gbagyi(Niger) and Berom, Mangu(Plateau).

Copyright Warning!

Contents on this website may not be republished, reproduced, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgement. All contents are protected by DMCA.
Ad:Learn Internet Business from Scratch: Register Here . Training is 100% FREE via email Only!
AD: Online Shopping - Electronics, Phones, Laptops - ShopDirect.NGAD: Click here to Read Latest Nigerian News
Blessing Smart is a Business Analyst and Content Developer at InfoGuide Nigeria is a team of Resource Persons and Consultants led by Ifiokobong Roberts. Page maintained by Ifiokobong Roberts. If you need a personal assistance on this topic, kindly contact us.


  1. juliet

    June 14, 2016 at 7:07 am

    i will like to copy your document.

    • Ifiokobong Rob

      June 14, 2016 at 1:30 pm

      You can copy it if you want to use it for research, assignment or term paper. remember to reference us. Please do not re-publish our articles on other websites. Success!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *